OneJustice Blog

Bring life-changing legal help to Californians in need.

Where can you find a dim sum enthusiast and an avid knitter?

A: At OneJustice, of course!

Join OneJustice as we welcome our newest staff members, Amy and Anh!

Recently, OneJustice expanded both its Los Angeles and San Francisco offices with two new team members, Amy Kaizuka and Anh Van. Amy is our new Senior Staff Attorney in Los Angeles and Anh is our new Development Associate in the San Francisco office. We are so excited to embark on this adventure with them, and thought you all would like to get to know them too!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Welcome Amy! Now tell us, what drew you to the work of OneJustice? 

I was drawn to the organization’s mission to increase access to legal help for underserved Californians and its dedication to closing the justice gap. And I love the focus on collaboration and community building, through the unique role that OneJustice plays in developing partnerships and supporting a broad network of legal services nonprofits, law schools, law firms, corporations, and individual volunteers.

Photo of Amy Kaizuka in her office, seated at her desk with a computer screen behind her

Amy Kaizuka, Senior Staff Attorney, will be overseeing pro bono projects in SoCal.

As the Senior Staff Attorney, what will your role be at OneJustice?

As Senior Staff Attorney, I will be responsible for overseeing the work of the Pro Bono Justice program in southern California, which includes the Justice Bus Project, OneJustice’s signature project connecting urban pro bono attorneys to underserved rural and isolated communities; IMPACT LA, an innovative program connecting domestic violence survivors with pro bono attorneys for assistance with housing, immigration and public benefit matter; and the California Pro Bono Training Institute, a new project founded by the pro bono directors of OneJustice, Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles and Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles County aimed at developing an online library of accessible and engaging trainings relevant to pro bono work.

I wish to foster and grow the existing relationships OneJustice has with partners in the southern California area. I hope to develop new partnerships and work on expanding services throughout southern California, reaching out to communities and areas we do not currently reach.

Sounds like amazing work ahead! We can’t wait to hear about this new California Pro Bono Training Institute project in the upcoming months! So, before coming to OneJustice, what type of work did you do? 

Prior to joining OneJustice, I was a grant writer for the Venice Oceanarium, a local educational nonprofit. My previous experiences included working in San Francisco as Legal Services Director at California Lawyers for the Arts, where I oversaw the pro bono program and conducted outreach to pro bono attorneys, and working in D.C. as a staff attorney at the Board on Professional Responsibility, an arm of the D.C. Court of Appeals responsible for adjudicating cases of attorney misconduct and disability.

Wow – such diverse organizations! And finally, tells us something quirky about you?

I crochet and knit. I learned to crochet when I was little, making sweaters, scarves and hats for my teddy bears (this often involved crocheting directly onto the bears, in order to accommodate their ears). I taught myself to knit later. I love seeing yarn bombing or other crochet or knit public art projects, but I usually stick to things like scarves or blankets.

Thank you for your great answers, Amy!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Hello Anh! Tells us a little about yourself! Where were you before OneJustice?

Anh Van, Development Associate, sitting at her desk with computer in front of her.

Anh Van, Development Associate, will be working with our donors and special events.

Before coming to OneJustice, I was searching for a career path that would enable me to make an impact. I wanted to find a work environment that would not only challenge me to do good but would also allow me to grow professionally. I would like to pursue an MBA degree in the distant future and the opportunity to be a part of the Development and Communications team is a great stepping stone towards my goal. I’m very fortunate to be apart of the OneJustice team and have the opportunity to work with people who share similar ideals and passion.

We are happy to have you with us! What will you be responsible for at OneJustice – and what do you hope to achieve?

My position as a Development Associate involves me managing our donor database, providing donor and corporate relations support and assisting with special events. Since joining the team, I’ve had immense support in learning about my role and responsibilities. Our Opening Doors to Justice event is coming up in about two months, so I’ve been able to not only learn about the event but also contribute to its planning and preparation. I look forward to not only being a key member to the Development and Communications team but to the OneJustice family and community as I learn more about my role.

That’s wonderful, glad it’s going well for you so far. We’re excited to see what is ahead for you! Tell us – what did you do before joining OneJustice? 

I graduated in 2013 from the University of California, Berkeley with a B.A. in Rhetoric. After graduation, I spent seven months abroad in Turkey and Hong Kong respectively. I’ve traveled quite a bit during my university days, going on three study abroad trips (London, Istanbul and Hong Kong) and an internship abroad in Singapore. Prior to coming to OneJustice, I interned at a local trade organization, a social media start-up as well as worked in the real estate industry.

Wow – those study abroad trips sound awesome! Finally, last question – what do you like to do in your spare time?

I really love exploring new sights and sounds. My first weekend back in the Bay Area, I spent all of Saturday at Golden Gate Park, going to the San Francisco’s King’s Day celebration, immersing myself in Dutch culture, and trying Dutch food. I also love furniture shopping, taking walks along Lake Merritt, eating dim sum, and driving along Pacific Coast Highway. I’m obsessed with cooking shows and singing competitions.

Thanks so much, Amy and Anh – we’re so happy to welcome you to the OneJustice team!

Leave a comment